Organizing Committee

Dr. Allan Donsig
has been a member or co-chair of the organizing committee since the conference's inception. He has been involved in organizing several conferences and AMS special sessions, including the 2007 Great Plains Operator Theory Symposium, the 2001 Rowlee Lecture, given by Vaughan F.R. Jones, and a week-long Workshop at the Banff International Research Station. His research is in operator algebras and operator theory, where he has supervised several undergraduate students.

Harbourne Photo
Dr. Brian Harbourne
has been involved with the NCUWM for three years. His research is in algebraic geometry, and he has supervised two students to doctorates. He was on the organizing committee for the entire 14 year run of the NSF-funded Mountain West conferences. He was PI of a 2002 NSF grant to bring graduate students and early career researchers to an international conference in Sicily, Italy. He was also one of the organizers for that conference and for another in Siena, Italy in 2004, and he organized a special session in algebraic geometry at the AMS sectional meeting held at UNL in 2005.

Dr. Gwendolen Hines
has been on the conference organizing committee for several years and last year was co-chair. She does research in dynamical systems, specializing in delay equations. She has mentored several undergraduate research projects. She has been very active in programs for girls and women and is a co-founder of the ALL GIRLS/ALL MATH program. She is also faculty adviser for the Women's Undergraduate Math Network, an undergraduate organization for women interested in mathematics. She organized the 1995 Dynamical Systems Workshop in Nebraska and led undergraduate research groups during the 2002 and 2004 Nebraska REUs in Applied Mathematics.

Dr. Glenn Ledder
does research in mathematical modeling in the physical and biological sciences, and he is a leader in developing an undergraduate mathematics curriculum for biology students at UNL. He is the lead-PI on a recent $30,000 NSF grant for that purpose. He is also the director of the RUTE (Research for Undergraduates in Theoretical Ecology) program, which is funded by a $710,000 NSF grant. He has supervised REU Site student groups in the summers of 2002, 2003, and 2006.

Dr. Richard Rebarber
was a co-chair of the organizing committee for the 2005 conference, and has served on the committee for eight years. His research area is control of infinite dimensional systems. He has a particular interest in undergraduate research. He has supervised nine undergraduate honors theses. He is the co-PI for our REU Site in Applied Mathematics, and supervised four REU Site students in the summer of 2003, and eight in the summer of 2005. In 1999 Dr. Rebarber was the organizer of an NSF-CBMS Research Conference on ``Mathematical Control Theory of Coupled Systems of Partial Differential Equations'', with principal lecturer Irena Lasiecka. He has co-organized one other conference and two other workshops, has organized many conference sessions, including an undergraduate research session at an AMS sectional meeting, and has taught a course introducing undergraduates to research.

Dr. Judy Walker
has been co-chair of the organizing committee for most years of its existence and is serving as chair again this year. Her research in algebraic coding theory has been continuously supported by NSF since she earned her PhD in 1996, and she has been very active in encouraging girls and women to study mathematics. She is a co-founder of the ALL GIRLS/ALL MATH program, and she has also served as an elected member of the AWM Executive Committee. She was the lecturer for the undergraduate portion of the IAS/PCMI Mentoring Program for Women in 1999 and for the DIMACS- and NSF-sponsored RECONNECT workshop at Salem State College in 2003. She will be one of three lecturers at the Summer School in Coding Theory at the Sophus Lie Conference Center, Nordfjordeid, Norway this summer. She is currently an elected member of the AMS Council and a member of the AMS Committee on Science Policy, and she is the lead PI on the department's Mentoring through Critical Transition Points grant from the National Science Foundation.

Marilyn Johnson
has served as the conference coordinator for NCUWM since 2002. She came to the math department in 2001 having worked for 7 years as a project coordinator for the NSF-funded Nebraska Math and Science Initiative and 3 years with UNL's Center for Instructional Innovation. Marilyn has coordinated over 100 conferences and workshops.

Raegan Higgins,
received her Master's Degree in 2004, and is a third year doctoral student in the Mathematics Ph.D. program, studying differential equations and dynamical systems. After giving at talk nonlinear dynamic equations on time scales at the 2001 NCUWM, Raegan participated in the Nebraska REU in Applied Mathematics the following summer. She also served on the 2003 NCUWM panel ``The Graduate School Experience''. This is Raegan's third year on the organizing committee.

Joan Lubben
is a fifth year graduate student in the Mathematics Ph.D. program and is working in mathematical ecology. She returned to graduate school after 19 years of employment, mostly in the field of human relations. Last year, she worked as a teaching assistant for Nebraska's 2005 REU program. This is Joan's first year on the organizing committee.

Silvia Saccon
is a third year graduate student in the Mathematics Ph.D. program. She is interested in commutative algebra and she completed her Master's Degree in May 2006. This is Silvia's first year on the organizing committee.

Deanna Turk
is a third year graduate student in the Mathematics Ph.D. program studying coding theory. She completed her Master's Degree in December 2005. She attended the NCUWM in 2003 and 2004, and gave a talk on her REU research in probability and genome reconstruction. This is Deanna's second year on the organizing committee.

Jill Westcott
is a sophomore undergraduate math major with biochemistry and French minors. She is active in Math Club, Biochemistry Club and NU Meds. She hopes to pursue either a research or medical career in the future.