Skip Navigation

Nebraska Conference for Undergraduate Women in Mathematics

Organizing Committee

Faculty and Staff

Lindsay Augustyn

Lindsay is the Events Support Associate for the Center for Science, Mathematics and Computer Education, which assists with conference logistics. She helps Shannon Parry with organizing conferences and workshops, and her duties center on graphic design, such as the creation of brochures, magazines and promotional materials for events. Her background is in newspaper design and editing, as well as the hospitality industry. She graduated from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln with a Bachelor's of Journalism.

Dr. Allan Donsig

Dr. Donsig is co-chair of the organizing committee this year. He has been a member or co-chair of the organizing committee since the conference's inception. His research is in operator algebras and operator theory, where he has supervised several undergraduate students and one doctoral student. He has been involved in organizing various conferences, including the 2007 Great Plains Operator Theory Symposium , the 2001 Rowlee Lecture  given by Vaughan F.R. Jones, and a week-long Workshop at the Banff International Research Station  in 2003. Dr. Donsig ia also co-PI on the Mentoring Through Critical Transition Points (MTCP) grant.

Dr. Brian Harbourne

Dr. Harbourne has been involved with the NCUWM for several years. His research is in algebraic geometry, and he has supervised three students to doctorates. He was on the organizing committee for the entire 14 year run of the NSF-funded Mountain West conferences. He was PI of a 2002 NSF grant to bring graduate students and early career researchers to an international conference in Sicily, Italy. He was also one of the organizers for that conference and for another in Siena, Italy in 2004, and he organized a special session in algebraic geometry at the AMS sectional meeting held at UNL in 2005.

Dr. Christine Kelley

Dr. Kelley is an assistant professor at UNL and works in coding theory. After receiving her Ph.D. from the University of Notre Dame in 2006, she held postdoctoral research positions at the Fields Institute and The Ohio State University. This is her second year on the organizing committee.

Dr. Glenn Ledder

Dr. Ledder does research in mathematical modeling in the physical and biological sciences, and he is a leader in developing an undergraduate mathematics curriculum for biology students at UNL. He is the lead-PI on a recent $30,000 NSF grant for that purpose. He is also the director of the RUTE (Research for Undergraduates in Theoretical Ecology) program, which is funded by a $710,000 NSF grant. He has supervised REU Site student groups in the summers of 2002, 2003, and 2006.

Dr. John Orr

Dr. Orr works in operator algebras and educational technology. He was an organizer of the Great Plains Operator Theory Symposium in 1994 and 2007, and of an AMS special session. His research programs have had nine years' support from NSF, including an NSF ASA grant on web-based student assessment. He is the creator of several nationally-distributed on-line assessment software products, including Maple T.A. He has advised several undergraduate research theses and is currently serving as Vice Chair of the department.

Shannon Parry

Shannon is the Event Coordinator in the Center for Science, Mathematics & Computer Education, which assists the Mathematics Department with conference logistics. She has most recently organized events for Math in the Middle, a five year NSF grant that assists Nebraska middle-level mathematics teachers obtain Master's Degrees and improve their teaching skills as well as establish a community of instructors. In addition, the Center launched a new NSF grant, NebraskaMATH, which has expanded the work begun in Math in the Middle to primary (K-3) and high school teachers. NCUWM is one of Shannon's favorite activities, as she relishes working with this amazing community of women.

Dr. Judy Walker

Dr. Walker has been chair or co-chair of the organizing committee for most years of its existence and is serving as co-chair again this year. Her research in algebraic coding theory has been continuously supported by NSF since she earned her PhD in 1996, and she has been very active in encouraging girls and women to study mathematics. She is a co-founder of the ALL GIRLS/ALL MATH program, and she has also served as an elected member of the AWM Executive Committee and the AMS Council. She was the lecturer for the undergraduate portion of the IAS/PCMI Mentoring Program for Women in 1999 and was one of three lecturers at the 2007 Summer School in Coding Theory at the Sophus Lie Conference Center, Nordfjordeid, Norway. She is currently serving as MAA's Polya Lecturer for 2009-2011. Dr. Walker is the Graduate Chair for the UNL Department of Mathematics and is a co-PI on the department's second Mentoring through Critical Transition Points grant from the National Science Foundation.

Graduate and Undergraduate Students

Ela Celikbas

Ela is a fifth year graduate student in the Mathematics PhD Program, interested in commutative algebra. She started graduate school 2 years after she finished college, receiving her Master's degree in 2006. Attending NCUWM in 2003 played a huge role in her decision to go to graduate school. This is Ela second year on the organizing committee.

Tiffany Forycki

Tiffany is an undergraduate junior planning on majoring in secondary math education. She is active in her sorority, Kappa Delta, as well as the Women's Undergraduate Math Network, and Pi Mu Epsilon. She hopes to become a high school math teacher. This is her second year on the NCUWM committee.

Joe Geisbauer

Joe is a third year graduate student in the Mathematics PhD Program interested in partial differential equations and calculus of variations. He has also been a graduate student mentor for the Nebraska REU in Applied Mathematics. This is Joe's first year on the committee, and he is ecstatic to have this opportunity!

Inês Henriques

Inês is a Sixth year Graduate student at UNL. She received a bachelors degree from Portugal and within a month started her PhD in the US. Inês will be completing her Ph.D. this year and it is her first year on the organizing committee. As a participant of NCUWM for the past 5 years, she decribes the conference as an enriching experience, exposing a totally new perspective on Mathematical networking.

Laura Lynch

Laura is a fifth year graduate student in the Mathematics PhD program studying commutative algebra. Laura has attended the conference for the last 6 years, twice as an undergraduate where she presented research from REUs at Miami university and at Northern Arizona University. This is Laura's second year on the organizing committee.