Organizing Committee

Dr. Allan Donsig
has been a member or co-chair of the organizing committee since the conference's inception. He has been involved in organizing several conferences and AMS special sessions, including the 2007 Great Plains Operator Theory Symposium, the 2001 Rowlee Lecture, given by Vaughan F.R. Jones, and a week-long Workshop at the Banff International Research Station. His research is in operator algebras and operator theory, where he has supervised several undergraduate students.

Harbourne Photo
Dr. Brian Harbourne
has been involved with the NCUWM for several years. His research is in algebraic geometry, and he has supervised three students to doctorates. He was on the organizing committee for the entire 14 year run of the NSF-funded Mountain West conferences. He was PI of a 2002 NSF grant to bring graduate students and early career researchers to an international conference in Sicily, Italy. He was also one of the organizers for that conference and for another in Siena, Italy in 2004, and he organized a special session in algebraic geometry at the AMS sectional meeting held at UNL in 2005.

Dr. Glenn Ledder
does research in mathematical modeling in the physical and biological sciences, and he is a leader in developing an undergraduate mathematics curriculum for biology students at UNL. He is the lead-PI on a recent $30,000 NSF grant for that purpose. He is also the director of the RUTE (Research for Undergraduates in Theoretical Ecology) program, which is funded by a $710,000 NSF grant. He has supervised REU Site student groups in the summers of 2002, 2003, and 2006.

Dr. Tom Marley
(at right in photo) is a new member of the committee this year, who does research in commutative algebra. He is a co-PI on the Department's Mentoring through Critical Transitions Point proposal and director of Nebraska IMMERSE, a summer program for early-career mathematics faculty and current and entering graduate students. He has supervised a number of undergraduate research theses, as well as been faculty advisor for the local Pi Mu Epsilon chapter and helped coach the department's often successful Putnam Exam team. He was Vice Chair of the department from 2001 to 2005.

Dr. John Orr
is a new member of the committee this year, whose research is in operator algebras and educational technology. He was an organizer of the Great Plains Operator Theory Symposium in 1994 and 2007, and of an AMS special session. His research programs have had nine years' support from NSF, including an NSF ASA grant on web-based student assessment. He is the creator of several nationally-distributed on-line assessment software products, including Maple T.A. He has advised several undergraduate research theses and has served as Vice Chair of the department.

Dr. Judy Walker
has been co-chair of the organizing committee for most years of its existence and is serving as chair again this year. Her research in algebraic coding theory has been continuously supported by NSF since she earned her PhD in 1996, and she has been very active in encouraging girls and women to study mathematics. She is a co-founder of the ALL GIRLS/ALL MATH program, and she has also served as an elected member of the AWM Executive Committee. She was the lecturer for the undergraduate portion of the IAS/PCMI Mentoring Program for Women in 1999 and was one of three lecturers at the 2007 Summer School in Coding Theory at the Sophus Lie Conference Center, Nordfjordeid, Norway. She is currently an elected member of the AMS Council and a member of the AMS Committee on Science Policy, and she is the lead PI on the department's Mentoring through Critical Transition Points grant from the National Science Foundation.

Marilyn Johnson
has served as the conference coordinator for NCUWM since 2002. She came to the math department in 2001 having worked for 7 years as a project coordinator for the NSF-funded Nebraska Math and Science Initiative and 3 years with UNL's Center for Instructional Innovation. Marilyn has coordinated over 100 conferences and workshops.

Joan Lubben
is a sixth year graduate student in the Mathematics Ph.D. program and is working in mathematical ecology. She returned to graduate school after 19 years of employment, mostly in the field of human relations. In 2005, she worked as a teaching assistant for Nebraska's REU program. This is Joan's second year on the organizing committee.

Terri Moore
is a fourth-year graduate student in the Mathematics Ph.D. program studying commutative algebra. She was among the initial recipients of the departments' First-Year MCTP Traineeships in 2004.

Silvia Saccon
is a fourth year graduate student in the Mathematics Ph.D. program. She is interested in commutative algebra and she completed her Master's Degree in May 2006. This is Silvia's second year on the organizing committee.

Jill Westcott
is a junior undergraduate math major with a pre-medical focus and chemistry minor. She is active in Pi Mu Epsilon, Math Club, Biochemistry Club and NU Meds. She hopes to pursue a medical career in the future.