Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 2004 Results

The 15th Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 11, 2004, at the UNL city campus Union. Opening ceremonies began at 8:00 a.m. in the Lied Center for Performing Arts with the Welcome Address from Chancellor Harvey Perlman. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year Math Day hosted 1,306 students from 103 Nebraska schools. In the afternoon Award Ceremony, Professor Peter Bleed, Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, presented the $34,000 of Gallup-sponsored scholarships to UNL to the top 10 students in the PROBE II competition.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 3 females and males receive awards. The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Gallup Organization and the Dean H. and Floreen G. Eastman Memorial Fund for Mathematics. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other (up to two alternates per team allowed). The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume only two years high school algebra and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Omaha Westside: Matt Fenwick, Aaron Junge, Eric Lawson, Ali Thariani
  2. Lincoln East: Tim Carrell, Alexander Lin, Aaron Fluitt

Class B

  1. Norris: Ben Hage, Tanner Moormeier, Mark Onwiler, Aaron Steele, Matthew Troupe
  2. Kearney Catholic: Adam Methe, Paul Niedbalski, Danny Norwood

Class C

  1. Grand Island Central Catholic: Jaycie Schmidt, Laura Wirth, Sarah Wirth
  2. Centura: Matt Coe, Tim Echtenkamp, Tyler Lemburg

Class D

  1. Spalding: Paul Bauer, Mitchell Glesinger, Brett Thome
  2. Keya Paha: Tony Arens, Tyler Clay, Casey Painter

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; Team members listed for 1st and 2nd place.)

Class A

  1. Lincoln East (90.2): Tim Carrell, Anish Mitra, Alex Churchill, Aaron Fluitt, Sally Hudson
  2. Creighton Prep (74): Keith McDermott, Craig Reeson, Tianlu Yuan, Adam Karnik, Steven Kowalski
  3. Omaha North (73.8)
  4. Omaha Westside (72.8)
  5. Lincoln Northeast (62.6)

Class B

  1. Norris (58.25): Mark Onwiler, Andrew Keralis, Tanner Moormeier, Erik Nelson
  2. Skutt Catholic (52.5): Katie Kolega, Peter Andersen, Bailey Stremlau, Carolyn Elvers
  3. Syracuse-Dunbar-Avoca (48.75)
  4. Kearney Catholic (46.25)
  5. Auburn (44.5)

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot (56.67): Sebastien Cherney, Jacob Bredthauer, Jonathan Jensen
  2. Mt. Michael (55.33): Scott Lindgren, Tim Prost, Sam Weitkemper
  3. Tecumseh (53.33)
  4. Grand Island Central Catholic (52)
  5. Tri-County (47.33)

Class D

  1. Parkview Christian (51.33): Jeff Detweiler, Benjamin Grone, Jessica Erickson
  2. Lindsay Holy Family (50): Cory Preister, Levi Melcher, Mikayla Beller
  3. College View Academy (48.67)
  4. Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran (46)
  5. Deshler (45.33)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (score out of 100 points, school)

Jill Westcott (Omaha North), Sally Hudson (Lincoln East), Kathryn Howard (Hastings).
Tim Carrell (Lincoln East), Anish Mitra (Lincoln East), Benjamin Lupo (Omaha North)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Place Name School
1 Tim Carrell Lincoln East
2 Jill Westcott Omaha North
3 Adam Karnik Creighton Prep
4 Matt Fenwick Westside
5 Craig Reeson Creighton Prep
6 Tianlu Yuan Creighton Prep
7 Alex Churchill Lincoln East
8 Hannah Breckbill Lincoln Northeast
9 Kathryn Howard Hastings
10 Benjamin Lupo Omaha North