Organizing Committee

Chantelle Bicket
is a second year graduate student in the Mathematics PhD program studying combinatorics. She has worked with Girls, Inc. in Omaha, NE creating a program to generate interest in mathematics among young girls. This will be her first year on the organizing committee.

Ela Celikbas
is a fifth year graduate student in the Mathematics PhD Program, interested in commutative algebra. She started graduate school 2 years after she finished college, receiving her Master's degree in 2006. Attending NCUWM in 2003 played a huge role in her decision to go to graduate school. This is Ela's first year on the organizing committee.

Dr. Allan Donsig
is co-chair of the organizing committee this year. He has been a member or co-chair of the organizing committee since the conference's inception. His research is in operator algebras and operator theory, where he has supervised several undergraduate students and one doctoral student. He has been involved in organizing various conferences, including the 2007 Great Plains Operator Theory Symposium, the 2001 Rowlee Lecture given by Vaughan F.R. Jones, and a week-long Workshop at the Banff International Research Station in 2003.

Tiffany Forycki
is an undergraduate sophomore planning on majoring in mathematics with a minor in psychology. She is active in her sorority, Kappa Delta, as well as NUWM, and the Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Eta Sigma honor societies. She hopes to become a high school math teacher. This is her first year on the NCUWM committee.

Harbourne Photo
Dr. Brian Harbourne
has been involved with the NCUWM for several years. His research is in algebraic geometry, and he has supervised three students to doctorates. He was on the organizing committee for the entire 14 year run of the NSF-funded Mountain West conferences. He was PI of a 2002 NSF grant to bring graduate students and early career researchers to an international conference in Sicily, Italy. He was also one of the organizers for that conference and for another in Siena, Italy in 2004, and he organized a special session in algebraic geometry at the AMS sectional meeting held at UNL in 2005.

Marilyn Johnson
has served as the conference coordinator for NCUWM since 2002. She came to the math department in 2001 having worked for 7 years as a project coordinator for the NSF-funded Nebraska Math and Science Initiative and 3 years with UNL's Center for Instructional Innovation. Marilyn has coordinated over 100 conferences and workshops. Marilyn will be serving in an oversight capacity during the 2009 conference as she passes the NCUWM torch to Shannon Parry from the Center for Science, Math and Computer Education. Marilyn has enjoyed working with the NCUWM committee members, student participants, and faculty representatives from other schools. She is looking forward to attending NCUWM as a Department representative in future years.

Dr. Christine Kelley
is a new assistant professor at UNL and works in coding theory. After receiving her Ph.D. from the University of Notre Dame in 2006, she held postdoctoral research positions at the Fields Institute and The Ohio State University. This is Christine's first year on the organizing committee.

Dr. Glenn Ledder
does research in mathematical modeling in the physical and biological sciences, and he is a leader in developing an undergraduate mathematics curriculum for biology students at UNL. He is the lead-PI on a recent $30,000 NSF grant for that purpose. He is also the director of the RUTE (Research for Undergraduates in Theoretical Ecology) program, which is funded by a $710,000 NSF grant. He has supervised REU Site student groups in the summers of 2002, 2003, and 2006.

Laura Lynch
is a fourth year graduate student in the Mathematics PhD program studying commutative algebra. Laura has attended the conference for the last 5 years, twice as an undergraduate where she presented research from REUs at Miami university and at Northern Arizona University. This is Laura's first year on the organizing committee.

Dr. Tom Marley
(on the right in photo), who is a second year member of the committee this year, does research in commutative algebra. He is a co-PI on the Department's Mentoring through Critical Transitions Point proposal and director of Nebraska IMMERSE, a summer program for early-career mathematics faculty and current and entering graduate students. He has supervised a number of undergraduate research theses, as well as been faculty advisor for the local Pi Mu Epsilon chapter and helped coach the department's often successful Putnam Exam team. He was Vice Chair of the department from 2001 to 2005.

Dr. John Orr
works in operator algebras and educational technology. He was an organizer of the Great Plains Operator Theory Symposium in 1994 and 2007, and of an AMS special session. His research programs have had nine years' support from NSF, including an NSF ASA grant on web-based student assessment. He is the creator of several nationally-distributed on-line assessment software products, including Maple T.A. He has advised several undergraduate research theses and is currently serving as Vice Chair of the department.

Shannon Parry
is the Event Coordinator in the Center for Science, Mathematics & Computer Education, which will be assisting this year with conference logistics. She has most recently organized events for Math in the Middle, a five year NSF grant that assists Nebraska middle-level mathematics teachers obtain Master's Degrees and improve their teaching skills as well as establish a community of instructors. She is very excited to work with the conference this year and looks forward to meeting this amazing community of women.

Dr. Judy Walker
has been chair or co-chair of the organizing committee for most years of its existence and is serving as co-chair again this year. Her research in algebraic coding theory has been continuously supported by NSF since she earned her PhD in 1996, and she has been very active in encouraging girls and women to study mathematics. She is a co-founder of the ALL GIRLS/ALL MATH program, and she has also served as an elected member of the AWM Executive Committee. She was the lecturer for the undergraduate portion of the IAS/PCMI Mentoring Program for Women in 1999 and was one of three lecturers at the 2007 Summer School in Coding Theory at the Sophus Lie Conference Center, Nordfjordeid, Norway. She is currently an elected member of the AMS Council and a member of the AMS Committee on Science Policy, and she is the lead PI on the department's Mentoring through Critical Transition Points grant from the National Science Foundation.

Jill Westcott
is a senior undergraduate math major with a pre-medical focus and a chemistry minor. She is the former President of the UNL chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, and is active in Math Club, Biochemistry Club, NU Meds. She also participates in the Alpha Epsilon Delta and Tau Sigma honor societies, in addition to her undergraduate research in genomics. She plans to attend medical school next fall. This is her third year on the NCUWM committee.