Harbourne's Fall 2010 Math 203J Section 1 assignments

Due DateAssignment
Fri Aug 27 Determine x in each of the following two UPC codes:
0 18000 x5620 2
0 9742x 49001 5
Mon Aug 30 Work through this handout.
Read sections 1.1 and 1.2 of book.
Wed Sep 1 Read sections 1.3, 1.4 and 1.5 of book.
Do Problem 19 on p. 32 (show the actual vote totals).
Fri Sep 3 Writing assignment 1
Here is a discussion on methods of estimating crowd sizes
Read sections 2.1 and 2.2 of book.
Do Problem 2 on p. 66.
Wed Sep 8 Do Problem 10, p. 67.
Fri Sep 10Writing Assignment 2
Look over Chapters 3, 4, 7 and 10 to vote on which one we'll cover.
Also think about which system we should use to run the vote.
Mon Sep 13 Be prepared to go over Practice Quiz 1 (solutions)
Wed Sep 15 Quiz 1 (on codes, crowds and voting), Avery Hall 115, 5:30-7:30 pm
Fri Sep 17 Read sections 13.1 and 13.2
Do Problem 22, p. 516.
Mon Sep 20 Read 13.3, 13.4, 13.5 and 13.6
Do Problems 28 (p. 517) and 32 (p. 518).
Wed Sep 22 Read 14.1, 14.2
Do Problem 6 (p. 545).
Fri Sep 24 Writing assignment 3
Read section 14.3
Do Problems 24, 34 and 42, pp. 548-549.
Mon Sep 27 Read 14.4
Do Problems 48 and 56 (p. 550).
Fri Oct 1 Review for quiz 2 covering Chapters 13 and 14 (Practice Quiz 2, solutions)
Mon Oct 4 Quiz 2 (50 minutes, usual classroom, usual class time)
Wed Oct 6 No class
Fri Oct 8 No class
Mon Oct 11 Read Chapters 15.1-15.3; do Problem 4, p. 577
Wed Oct 13 Read Sections 15.4-15.5; do Problems 44, 50, pp. 580-581
Fri Oct 15 Writing assignment 4
Read Section 15.6; do Problem 62, p. 582
Wed Oct 20 Read Section 16.1-16.3; do Problems 4ab, 16ab, pp. 604-605
Fri Oct 22 Read Section 16.4-16.6; do Problems 36, 46, pp. 606-607
Mon Oct 25 Read Section 16.7 and Friday's handout
Wed Oct 27 Handout and Solutions
Fri Oct 29 Practice Quiz 3
Mon Nov 1 Quiz 3, covering chapters 15-16
Wed Nov 3 Writing assignment 5
Fri Nov 5 Read Sections 10.2, 10.3; do Problems 22(a), 32(a), p. 393
Mon Nov 8 Read Sections 10.4, 10.5; do Problems 60, 64, p. 395
Wed Nov 10 Read Section 10.6; do Problem 74(a), p. 396
Fri Nov 12 Practice Quiz 4 covering Chapter 10 (Solutions)
Mon Nov 15 Quiz 4 covering Chapter 10
Wed Nov 17 Writing assignment 6
Read Sections 3.1, 3.2; do Problem 8, p. 104
Fri Nov 19 Read Sections 3.3, 3.4; Problem 34, p. 110
Mon Nov 22 Read Sections 3.5, 3.6; Problem 54, p. 114
Mon Nov 29 Go over Practice Quiz 5 (Solutions)
Writing assignment 7 (due date extended to Wed Dec 1)
Wed Dec 1 Quiz 5
Mon Dec 13 Writing Assignment 8
Fri Dec 1710am-Noon: Quiz make ups