Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 2014 Results


1,506 students from 105 Nebraska high schools participated in the 25th annual UNL Math Day on Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014, on the UNL campus. This event is designed to spark high school students' interest in math, to encourage them to pursue a career in mathematics or the mathematical sciences, and to recognize outstanding mathematical ability.

This all-day event consists of the PROBE I and PROBE II individual competitions and the fast-paced Math Bowl double elimination team competition. Students start with the multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top three females and males receive awards. The top five, four, or three scores (depending on class) from each school determine the PROBE I Team score. The top 40 students move on to take an essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in four-year scholarships to UNL.

Math Bowl Tournament

The top two teams are listed for each class.

Class I

  1. Omaha North: Derek Chew, Brad Tuttle, Andy Wishart
  2. Lincoln Southwest: Denis Komissarov, Troy Nguyen, Jae Hyun Lim

Class II

  1. Omaha Creighton Prep: Alex Vetter, Don Nguyen, Shane Grode
  2. Norris: Matt Rohman, Bryson Anderson, Nick Wieskamp

Class III

  1. Mount Michael Benedictine: Fletcher Lin, Jonathan Collins, Junwoo Lee
  2. Seward: Alexa Bruick, Austin Van Velson, Evan Mettenbrink

Class IV

  1. Brownell-Talbot: Julia Fiksinski, Caravaggio Caniglia, Adi Telikicherla
  2. Elmwood-Murdock: Gary Ritnour, Brenna Backemeyer, Trevor Lockman

Class V

  1. Emerson-Hubbard: Abby Drieling, Sidney Trenhaile, Alex Heitzman
  2. Arapahoe: Levi Watson, Junior Hilker, Jacob Gardner

Class VI

  1. Dorchester: Tim Havlat, Nixon Nerud, Cassidy Olson
  2. Spalding Academy: Jacob Bauer, Ashley Glesinger, Bronc McKay

The third-place bowl teams for each class also received a trophy. Those winning schools are: Lincoln East (Class I), Elkhorn (Class II), York (Class III), Yutan (Class IV), Hastings St. Cecilia (Class V), and Mullen (Class VI).

PROBE I – Team Competition

Maximum possible team score is 100. The top five teams are listed for each class.

Class I

  1. Lincoln East (90.2)
  2. Omaha North (78.4)
  3. Lincoln Southeast (73.4)
  4. Lincoln Southwest (70.6)
  5. Millard South (69.2)

Class II

  1. Omaha Creighton Prep (78.4)
  2. Lincoln Pius X (68.4)
  3. Norris (67.6)
  4. Elkhorn High (64)
  5. Elkhorn South (60.6)

Class III

  1. Mount Michael Benedictine (93)
  2. Seward (67)
  3. Duchesne Academy of the Sacret Heart (64.5)
  4. Concordia Lutheran (62)
  5. Omaha Skutt Catholic (61.25)

Class IV

  1. Omaha Brownell-Talbot (89.33)
  2. Lincoln Christian (66)
  3. Johnson County Central (58.67)
  4. Auburn (55)
  5. Yutan (55)

Class V

  1. Nebraska Christian (72)
  2. Nebraska Ev. Lutheran (59)
  3. Perkins County (58)
  4. Emerson-Hubbard (57.67)
  5. East Butler (55)

Class VI

  1. Spalding Academy (51.67)
  2. Dorchester (48.67)
  3. Exeter-Milligan (44.67)
  4. Pope John (44.67)
  5. Mullen (42)

PROBE I – Individual Competition

The top three individuals are listed for each gender.


  1. Ingrid Zhang,  Lincoln East High School
  2. Ivy Wang, Omaha Brownell-Talbot High School
  3. Jainaha Srikumar, Omaha Brownell-Talbot High School


  1. Jae Hyun Lim, Lincoln Southwest High School
  2. Zachary Warneke, Millard South High School
  3. Jae Jun Park, Mount Michael Benedictine High School
  4. Young Jo Park, Mount Michael Benedictine High School

PROBE II – Scholarship Competition

The top 10 awarded four-year Math Day Scholarships to UNL. The award for 1st is $8,000, for 2nd-5th is $4,000 and for 6th-10th is $2,000. (The amount given is the four-year total).

Place Name School
1 Derek Chew Omaha North High School
2 Ingrid Zhang Lincoln East High School
3 Jae Hyun Lim Lincoln Southwest High School
4 Zach Warneke Millard South
5 Alex Heitzman Emerson-Hubbard Jr/Sr High School
6 Isaac Zhang Lincoln East High School
7 Caravaggio Caniglia Omaha Brownell-Talbot
8 Ivy Wang Omaha Brownell-Talbot
9 Jae Jun Park Mount Michael Benedictine
10 Crystal Xu Lincoln East High School


Probe I Solutions