Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 2012 Results


Women dominated this year's UNL Math Day with 1st, 2nd, and 4th place overall in the scholarship competition. Marika Svolos of Omaha Central was the 1st place winner.

1,389 students from 99 Nebraska high schools participated in the 23rd annual UNL Math Day on Thursday, November 15 on the UNL campus. This event is designed to spark high school students' interest in math, to encourage them to pursue a career in mathematics or the mathematical sciences, and to recognize outstanding mathematical ability.

This all day event consist of the PROBE I and PROBE II individual competitions and the fast-paced Math Bowl double elimination team competition. Students start with the multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top three females and males receive awards. The top five, four, or three scores (depending on class) from each school determine the PROBE I Team score. The top 50 students move on to take an essay exam called PROBE II. The top ten on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in four-year scholarships to UNL. These scholarships are generously supported by the Dean H. and Floreen G. Eastman Memorial Fund for Mathematics, the Gallup Math Day Fund, the UNL College of Engineering, and the UNL Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs.

Math Bowl Tournament

The top two teams are listed for each class.

Class A

  1. Lincoln East: Sam Kohler, Akshay Rajagopal, Katie Sedlar, Eric Weber, Ingrid Zhang
  2. Omaha North: Derek Chew, Brock Ericson, Erick Hernandez, Ian Howell, Doug Rowen

Class B

  1. Duchesne Academy: Zoe Cohen, Jackie Grode, Erica Hedrick, Anna Petrow, Pooja Varman
  2. Elkhorn: Drew Dudley, Jesse Holmes, Wyatt Osborn, Collin Roessner, Anthony Sufficool

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot: Andrew Chen, Linda Liu, Michael Zhong, Jessica Zhou
  2. Archbishop Bergen: Mary Alderson, Logan Atkinson, T. J. Fryklind, Patrick Herink

Class D

  1. Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran: Naomi Brandt, Ryan Henning, Catherine Jurgens, Tiara Lee
  2. Mullen: Matthew Furrow, Adam Starr, Josh Vinton.

PROBE I – Team Competition

Maximum possible team score is 100. The top five teams are listed for each class.

A * next to a school denotes corrected rankings. Changes to class assignments two weeks before Math Day were not reflected in the original rankings.

Class A

  1. Lincoln East (87.00)
  2. Omaha Central (83.80)
  3. Millard North (71.00)
  4. Creighton Prep (69.40)
  5. Omaha North (66.60)

Class B

  1. Elkhorn (72.75)
  2. Mt. Michael (69.75)
  3. Duchesne Academy (69.25)
  4. *Elkhorn South (63.75)
  5. Scottsbluff Senior High School (62.50)

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot (85.67)
  2. *Lincoln Christian (66.67)
  3. Harvard (57.67)
  4. Archbishop Bergan (53.33)
  5. Yutan (52.00)

Class D

  1. Sargent (47.33)
  2. Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran (44.33)
  3. Bertrand (44.00)
  4. tie – Exeter-Milligan (41.33) & Mullen (41.33)

PROBE I – Individual Competition

The top three individuals are listed for each gender.


  1. tie – Marika Svolos (Omaha Central) & Ingrid Zhang (Lincoln East)
  2. Jessica Zhou (Brownell-Talbot)


  1. Ryan Goding (Omaha Central)
  2. Akshay Rajagopal (Lincoln East)
  3. Wyatt Osborn (Elkhorn)

PROBE II – Scholarship Competition

The top 10 awarded four-year Math Day Scholarships to UNL. The award for 1st is $8,000, for 2nd-5th is $4,000 and for 6th-10th is $2,000. (The amount given is the four-year total).

Place Name School
1 Marika Svolos Omaha Central
2 Ingrid Zhang Lincoln East
3 Ryan Goding Omaha Central
4 Linda Liu Brownell-Talbot
5 Ethan Sun Lincoln Christian
6 Shashwat Sitesh Millard North
7 Michael (Chaojie) Zhong Brownell-Talbot
8 Ian Howell Omaha North
9 Akshay Rajagopal Lincoln East
10 Derek Chew Omaha North