Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 2011 Results

The 22nd Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 17, at the Nebraska Union on UNL City Campus. Opening ceremonies began at 8 a.m. in the Lied Center for the Performing Arts with the welcome address by Associate Vice Chancellor Amy Goodburn. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year, Math Day hosted 1,421 students from 104 Nebraska high schools. In the afternoon awards ceremony, Professor John Meakin, Chair of the Mathematics Department, presented UNL scholarships totaling $34,000 to the top 10 students in the PROBE II competition.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information, and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top three females and males receive awards. The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Dean H. and Floreen G. Eastman Memorial Fund for Mathematics, the Gallup Math Day Fund, the College of Engineering, and The Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting three-member teams against each other (up to two alternates per team allowed). The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium, and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume two years high school algebra, trigonometry, and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Millard North: Tyler Chen, Mohit Jain, Shashwat Sitesh, Vaibhav Viswanathan, Peter Xu.
  2. Westside: Brogan Bishop, Ben Fenwick, Mac Mikkelsen, Jake Poots.

Class B

  1. Elkhorn: Dudley Drew, Jesse Holmes, Wayne Osborn, Wyatt Osborn.
  2. Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart: Tori Bracht, Zoe Cohen, Jackie Grode, Shelby Strattan, Pooja Varman.

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot: Caravaggio Caniglia, Andrew Chen, Britt Fossum, Linda Liu, Jonny Trinh.
  2. Freeman: Adam Frerichs, Mitchell Hesseltine, Jake Krieger, Philipp Levine, Alex Richardson.

Class D

  1. Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran: Monica Brandt, Ryan Henning, Thomas Rockhoff, Richard Song, Jacob Tuma.
  2. Harvard: Paden Derr, Mikayla Novak, Austin Uden.

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; 1st through 5th in each class.)

Class A

  1. Lincoln East (80.20)
  2. Westside (74.00)
  3. Creighton Prep (73.40)
  4. Omaha Central (71.80)
  5. Millard North (70.60)

Class B

  1. Mt. Michael (77.00)
  2. Elkhorn (66.00)
  3. Duchesne Academy (64.00)
  4. Skutt Catholic (61.50)
  5. Norris (61.25)

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot (72.33)
  2. Archbishop Bergan (62.33)
  3. Yutan (57.67)
  4. Sutton (57.33)
  5. Freeman (55.67)

Class D

  1. Harvard (54.00), Sterling (54.00)
  2. Parkview Christian (53.33)
  3. Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran (52.67)
  4. Kenesaw (49.00)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (school)

1st Katie Sedlar (Lincoln East) and Marika Svolos (Omaha Central), 3rd Ha Yoon Lee (Lincoln Southwest) and Ingrid Zhang (Lincoln East)
1st Thomas Fryklind (Archbishop Bergan), 2nd Ben Fenwick (Westside) & Joon Park (Mt. Michael)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Top 10 awarded 4-year Math Day Scholarships to UNL. The award for 1st is $8,000, for 2nd-5th is $4,000 and for 6th-10th is $2,000 (amount given is the 4-year total).

Place Name School
1 Peter Xu Millard North
2 Michael Liou Lincoln East
3 Wayne Osborn Elkhorn
4 Ben Fenwick Westside
5 Marika Svolos Omaha Central
6 Pierce Dageford Millard South
7 Thomas Fryklind Archbishop Bergan
8 Ingrid Zhang Lincoln East
9 (Tie) Joon Park Mt. Michael
9 (Tie) Shashwat Sitesh Millard North
9 (Tie) Michael Zhong Brownell-Talbot