Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 2010 Results

The 21st Annual UNL Math Day was held on Tuesday, November 9, 2010, at the UNL City Campus Union. Opening ceremonies began at 8:00 a.m. in the Lied Center for Performing Arts with the Welcome Address given by Chancellor Harvey Perlman. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year Math Day hosted 1,274 students from 94 Nebraska high schools. During the afternoon Award Ceremony, Professor John Meakin, Chair of the Mathematics Department, presented UNL scholarships totaling $34,000 to the top 10 students in the PROBE II competition.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 3 females and males receive awards. The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Dean H. and Floreen G. Eastman Memorial Fund for Mathematics, the College of Engineering and the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other (up to two alternates per team allowed). The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume two years high school algebra, one year geometry and trigonometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Lincoln East: Sean Douglas, Darrin Lim, Richard Zhang
  2. Creighton Prep: Seth Davis, Paul Davey, Michael Lebens, Jeffmin Lin, Alex Marichal

Class B

  1. Duchesne Academy: Zoe Cohen, Katie Emig, Jaclyn Grode, Macy Mulhall, Pooja Varman
  2. Beatrice: Mitchell Irmer, Shelby Lauritsen, Cody Minor, Kelsie Schlake

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot: Paul Harding, Jay Li, Linda Liu, Allison Simkins, Jonathan Trinh
  2. Archbishop Bergan: Thomas Fryklind, Matt Jacobs, Jackson Mahrt, Julia Meier

Class D

  1. Nebraska Lutheran: Monica Brandt, Ian Fury, Marcus Henning, Thomas Rockhoff, Harry Sun
  2. Bertrand Community School: Ryan Dahlgren, Dekota Lundy, Brian Taute, Brock Taute, Michael Smith
Math Bowl Tournament

Students participating in the championship round of the Math Bowl Tournament

Probe I Exam

Students taking the PROBE I exam

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; 1st through 5th in each class.)

Class A

  1. Lincoln East (91.20)
  2. Creighton Prep (88.00)
  3. Westside (78.80)
  4. Lincoln Southwest (78.20)
  5. Elkhorn (72.40)

Class B

  1. Mt. Michael (77.25)
  2. Duchesne Academy (66.50)
  3. Norris (62.75)
  4. Elkhorn South (56.75)
  5. Plattsmouth (53.25)

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot (73.00)
  2. Lincoln Christian (72.33)
  3. Archbishop Bergan (65.33)
  4. Concordia Lutheran (55.33)
  5. Elmwood-Murdock (54.33)

Class D

  1. Nebraska Lutheran (71.67)
  2. Parkview Christian (50.33)
  3. Sterling (48.67)
  4. Bertrand (47.33)
  5. Dorchester (46.67)
Probe II Exam

Students taking the PROBE I exam

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (school)

1st Wuqiu Sun (Lincoln Southeast), 2nd Katie Sedlar (Lincoln East), 3rd Marika Svolos (Omaha Central)
1st Pierce Dageforde (Millard South) and Albert Zhou (Lincoln Southwest), 3rd Darrin Lim (Lincoln East)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Top 10 awarded 4-year Math Day Scholarships to UNL. The award for 1st is $8,000, for 2nd-5th is $4,000 and for 6th-10th is $2,000 (amount given is the 4-year total).

Place Name School
1 Richard Zhang Lincoln East
2 Albert Zhou Lincoln Southwest
3 Pierce Dageforde Millard South
4 Darrin Lim Lincoln East
5 Sean Douglas Lincoln East
6 Ben Fenwick Lincoln East
7 Seth Davis Creighton Prep
8 Paul Davey Creighton Prep
9 Marika Svolos Omaha Central
10 Parviz Kholmatov Lincoln East