Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 2005 Results

The 16th Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 10, 2005, at the UNL city campus Union. Opening ceremonies began at 8:00 a.m. in the Lied Center for Performing Arts with the Welcome Address from Associate Vice Chancellor David Wilson. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year Math Day hosted 1,211 students from 88 Nebraska schools. In the afternoon Award Ceremony, Professor John Meakin, Chair of the Mathematics Department, presented UNL scholarships totaling $34,000 to the top 10 students in the PROBE II competition.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 3 females and males receive awards. The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Dean H. and Floreen G. Eastman Memorial Fund for Mathematics, the College of Engineering and UNL. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other (up to two alternates per team allowed). The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume only two years high school algebra and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Lincoln East: Alex Churchill, Aaron Fluitt, Sally Hudson
  2. Lincoln Pius X: Ben Kotopka, James Lange, Matthew Shea, James Morin

Class B

  1. Centura: Matthias Coe, Tim Echtenkamp, Tyler Hulme, Tyler Lemburg
  2. Skutt Catholic: Peter Andersen, Chuck Ries, Bailey Stremlau

Class C

  1. Grand Island Central Catholic: Bryan Bialas, Andrew Chalupa, Jaycie Schmidt, Laura Wirth
  2. Creek Valley: Lindsey Dykman, William Everitt, Timothy Kinoshita, McKenzie Steger

Class D

  1. Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran: Stephen Boggs, Seth Davies, Tom Schroeder, Lily Spader, Krystal Winter
  2. Lewiston: Tony Bursovsky, Rachel Hippen, Nathan Seitz, Savannah Wenzl

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; Team members listed for 1st and 2nd place.)

Class A

  1. Lincoln East (86.2): Alex Churchill, Alan Fast, Brady Gilg, Alan Xu, Kelsey Johnson
  2. Omaha Westside (85): Eric Lawson, Alex Estes, Ian Taylor, Tobie Kunkle, John Hodson
  3. Millard North (76.8)
  4. Creighton Prep (76.8)
  5. Lincoln Southeast (76)

Class B

  1. Norris (68.5): Erik Nelson, Justin Popek, Eric Price, Spencer Hall
  2. Skutt Catholic (66): David Bramhall, Bailey Stremlau, Peter Andersen, Tobias Letak
  3. Seward (63.25)
  4. Syracuse-Dunbar-Avoca (56)
  5. Plattsmouth (55.75)

Class C

  1. Mt. Michael (74): Jeffrey Kucirek, Chanhoon Park, Evan Freilich
  2. Brownell-Talbot (68): Jacob Bredthauer, Raphael Cherney, Alexander Drvol
  3. Grand Island Central Catholic (61.33)
  4. Weeping Water (56.33)
  5. Thayer Central (55.33)

Class D

  1. Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran (55.67): Seth Davies, Krystal Winter, Lily Spader
  2. Lindsay Holy Family (49.67): Ashley Wegener, Ross Preister, Kristin Beller
  3. Greeley-Wohlbach (48)
  4. Spalding Academy (46.33)
  5. Dorchester (45.67)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (score out of 100 points, school)

Phuong Nguyen (Lincoln North East), Tobie Kunkle (Omaha Westside), Kelsey Johnson (Lincoln East).
Eric Lawson (Omaha Westside), Alex Churchill (Lincoln East), Alan Fast (Lincoln East).

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Place Name School
1 Alex Churchill Lincoln East
2 Eric Lawson Omaha Westside
3 Adam Karnik Creighton Prep
4 Tyler Lemburg Centura
5 Jacob Bredthauer Brownell-Talbot
6 Benjamin Kotopka Lincoln Pius X
7 Augusto Alonso Creighton Prep
8 Alexander French Millard North
9 Alan Fast Lincoln East
10 Erik Nelson Norris