Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 2002 Results

The 13th Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 14, 2002, at the UNL city campus Union. Opening ceremonies began at 8:00 a.m. the Lied Center for Performing Arts with the Welcome Address by the Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Richard Edwards. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year Math Day hosted 1,298 students from 105 Nebraska schools. In the afternoon Award Ceremony, Dr. Edwards presented the $34,000 of Gallup-sponsored UNL scholarships to the top 10 students in the PROBE II competition.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 3 females and males receive awards. The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Gallup Organization. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other. The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume only two years high school algebra and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Creighton Prep: Michael Bogacz, Colin Dinsmore, Ted Erickson, Guillermo Huerta, J.J. Schumacher
  2. Omaha North: John Herzinger, Patricia Holley, Yuliy Pisetsky

Class B

  1. Grand Island Central Catholic: Benjamin Bialas, Dusty Sorahan, Sarah Wirth
  2. Duchesne Academy Sacred Heart: Andrea Griffin, Katie Hildreth, Amy Locher, Theresa Thiel, Kathryn Zukaitis

Class C

  1. Kearney Catholic: Tyler Hoehn, Michael Jensen, Nate Sorensen
  2. Brownell-Talbot: Melitta Andersen, Sandeep Ayyappan, Timothy Maly

Class D

  1. Nemaha Valley: Tristin Badberg, Steven Gadeken, Tara Ruenholl, Anne Wellensiek, Nicole Williams
  2. Chappell Public: Peter Carlson, Bobby Chambers, Jason Kepler, Sean Krueger

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100.)

Class A

  1. Omaha North (79.60)
  2. Lincoln East (79.40)
  3. Omaha Westside (78.20)
  4. Creighton Prep (74.60)
  5. Elkhorn Senior (70.00)

Class B

  1. Auburn (63.50)
  2. Norris (63.00)
  3. Skutt Catholic (61.75)
  4. Duchesne Academy (58.25)
  5. Grand Island Central Catholic (56.00)

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot (71.00)
  2. Kearney Catholic (67.00)
  3. Mount Michael (57.00)
  4. Heartland Community (54.00)
  5. Nebraska Evangelical (52.33)

Class D

  1. Mead (56.00)
  2. Bruning/Davenport (50.67)
  3. Medicine Valley (49.33)
  4. Central Christian (49.33)
  5. Nemaha Valley (49.00)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (score out of 100 points, school)

Melitta Andersen (84, Brownell-Talbot), Jill Westcott (83, Omaha North), Jessica Codr (75, Lincoln Lutheran)
Michael Bogacz (97, Creighton Prep), Tim Carrell (92, Lincoln East), Ben Lupo (90, Omaha North)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Place Name School
1 Michael Bogacz Creighton Prep
2 Tim Carrell Lincoln East
3 Nate Sorensen Kearney Catholic
4 Igor Konfisakhar Omaha Westside
5 Jonathan Potter Omaha Northwest
6 Stephen Anthony Lincoln East
7 David Kim Lincoln Southeast
8 Daniel Morris Millard North
9 Yuliy Pisetsky Omaha North
10 Jonathon Pettit Lincoln Southeast