Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 2000 Results

The 11th Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 9, 2000, at the UNL city campus Union. Opening ceremonies began at 8:00 a.m. in the Lied Center for Performing Arts with the Welcome Address by Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs James Griesen. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year Math Day hosted 1,312 students from 99 Nebraska schools. In the afternoon Award Ceremony, Chancellor Harvey Perlman handed out the awards for the PROBE I competition and Dr. Donald Clifton, Chairman of Gallup International Education and Reserach Center, awarded the $34,000 Gallup-sponsored UNL scholarships to the top 10 students in the PROBE II competition.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Gallup Organization. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other. The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume only two years high school algebra and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Creighton Prep High School: Michael Bogacz, Peter Cavanaugh, James Chapman, J.J. Schumacher
  2. Omaha North High School: Nick Bowman, Chris Holley, Patricia Holley, Joe Matson, Teresa Negus

Class B

  1. Aurora High School: Mary Authur, Brian Kell, John Troester
  2. Grand Island Central Catholic High School: Tyler Huismann, Robert Powers, Tyler Wortman

Class C

  1. Kearney Catholic High School: David Archwamety, Ryan Dobish, Michael Jensen, Jennifer Nikkila, Nate Sorensen
  2. Morrill High School: Andy Bastian, Katie Flock, Heather Lashley, Kim Morrill, Courtney Thomas

Class D

  1. Science Focus Program: Robert Lefferts, Charlie Nolan, Kristen Prudenz, Ryan Tiedeman
  2. Nemaha Valley High School: Amy Ebeler, Erin Ebeler, Clayton Harris, Tara Tubbesing, Chris Weber

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; Team members listed for 1st and 2nd place.)

Class A

  1. Omaha North (90.40): Yuliy Pisetsky, Nick Bowman, Paula Madgett, John Herzinger, Chris Holley
  2. Lincoln East (87.40): Ryan Haase, Rebecca Harbison, Stephen Anthony, Jill Baker, Tom Dunbar
  3. Creighton Prep (83.40)
  4. Omaha Westside (82.40)
  5. Lincoln Northeast (82.00)

Class B

  1. Aurora (70.00): Brian Kell, Drew Rudebusch, Mary Arthur, Colin Anderson
  2. Auburn (66.75): Kevin Chevalier, Ryan Thomas, Amber Whisler, Aaron Breuer
  3. Waverly (66.00)
  4. Seward (64.00)
  5. Norris (63.75)

Class C

  1. Kearney Catholic (83.67): Nate Sorensen, David Archwamety, Michael Jensen
    Brownell-Talbot (83.67): Matthew Drake, Jennifer Goslee, Melitta Andersen
  2. Mt. Michael (73.33)
  3. Morrill (71.00)
  4. Sutton (61.00)

Class D

  1. Science Focus (86.00): Robert Lefferts, Ryan Tiedeman, Charlie Nolan
  2. Nemaha Valley (67.00): Chris Weber, Nathan Damme, Holly Morris.
    Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran (67.00): Scott Nommensen, Christopher Clayton, James Rohleder
  3. Dorchester (65.67)
  4. Pope John XXIII (54.00)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (score out of 100 points, school)

Rebecca Harbison (97, Lincoln East), Paula Madgett (87, Omaha North), Jennifer Goslee (82, Brownell-Talbot)
Ryan Haase (100, Lincoln East), Yuliy Pisetsky (100, Omaha North), Michael Bogacz (96, Creighton Prep)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Place Name School
1 Robert Lefferts Science Focus
2 Ryan Haase Lincoln East
3 Andrew Morten Randolph
4 Nick Bowman Omaha North
5 Rebecca Harbison Lincoln East
5 Tristan Skrdla-Markwell Lincoln Northeast
7 Matthew Drake Brownell-Talbot
8 Nate Sorensen Kearney Catholic
9 Chris Holley Omaha North
10 Jonathan Potter Omaha Northwest