Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 1999 Results

The 10th Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 11, 1999, at the UNL city campus Union. Opening ceremonies began at 8:00 a.m. in the Lied Center for Performing Arts with the Welcome Address by Associate Vice Chancellor David Brinkerhoff. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year Math Day hosted 1,434 students from 103 Nebraska schools.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. These scholarships are supported by the Gallup Organization. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other. The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume only two years high school algebra and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Elkhorn High School: Robert Benson, Justin Shank, Holly Shiltz, Bryan Witte
  2. Creighton Prep High School: Jesse Deacon, Mike O'Doherty, Nick Grennan, Jake Wallace

Class B

  1. Plattsmouth High School: Sarah Liebsch, Scott Martin, Brian Wiese, TJ Wilson
  2. Aurora High School: Caitlin Anderson, Brian Kell, Jon Groelz

Class C

  1. Morrill High School: Andy Bastian, Megan Lutz, Kim Morrill, Robert Nelson, Courtney Thomas
  2. Brownell-Talbot High School: Matt Cerney, Matt Drake, Timothy Kobayahshi, Yaeko Okuda, Travis Penn

Class D

  1. Mead High School: Sara Konecky, Shane Mapes, Adam Miller, Hannah Taylor, Paul Thorsen
  2. Science Focus Program (Lincoln Zoo School): Jason Norris, Christopher Schiltz, Stephanie Shubert, Don Stenberg, Ryan Tiedeman

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; Team members listed for 1st and 2nd place.)

Class A

  1. Lincoln East (68.80): Ryan Haase, Thane Dinsdale, Jill Baker, Katie Will, Kendra Doolittle
  2. Omaha Westside (68.20): Matt Meyer, Patrick Gronstal, Marie Joiner, Eric Williams, Frank Lin
  3. Creighton Prep (68.00)
  4. Lincoln Southeast (67.40)
  5. Omaha North (67.00)

Class B

  1. Waverly (56.00):James Schneider, Sarah Riley, Charles Harwood, Wesley McClure
  2. Aurora (46.75): Brian Kell, John Troester, Cora Huenefeld, Caitlin Anderson
  3. Auburn (44.75)
  4. Skutt Catholic (42.00)
  5. Seward (41.00)

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot (69.67): Matt Cerney, Matt Drake, Timothy Kobayashi
  2. Nemaha Valley (51.67): Chris Weber, Erin Ebeler, Raela Gadeken
  3. Mt. Michael (50.33)
  4. Morrill (48.67)
  5. Syracuse-Dunbar-Avoca (40.00)

Class D

  1. Dorchester (45.33): Ben Holly, Krystal Sokolik, Jason Weber
    Mead (45.33): Paul Thorson, Sara Konecky, Tanya Wellman
  2. St. Francis (43.67)
  3. Science Focus (41.00)
  4. Exeter (40.67)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (score out of 100 points, school)

Marie Joiner (67, Westside), Jill Baker (61, Lincoln East), Katie Will (61, Lincoln East)
Ryan Haase (92, Lincoln East), Bryan Gordon (92, Lincoln High), Tristan Skrdla-Markwell (84, Lincoln Northeast)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Place Name School
1 Bryan Gordon Lincoln High
2 Ryan Haase Lincoln East
3 Mike O'Doherty Creighton Prep
4 Todd Stohs Lincoln Southeast
5 Brian Kell Aurora
6 Tristan Skrdla-Markwell Lincoln Northeast
7 Matt Cerney Brownell-Talbot
8 Andrew Lieben Omaha Central
9 George Edwards Lincoln Southeast
10 Jill Baker Lincoln East