Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 1998 Results

The 9th Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 12, 1998, at the UNL city campus Union. Opening ceremonies began simultaneously at 8:00 a.m. in Kimball Hall and the Union with the Welcome Address by Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Richard Edwards. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year Math Day hosted 1,218 students from 93 Nebraska schools.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Gallup Organization. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other. The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume only two years high school algebra and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Lincoln Northeast: Paul Ahlemeyer, Gavin Donaldson, Robert Gallagher, Jeff Ifland, Tristan Skrdla-Markwell
  2. Lincoln Southeast: Tracy Cozine, George Edwards, Ginger Gloystein, David Poland, Todd Stohs

Class B

  1. Fairbury: Derek Boeckner, J. Matthew Casson, Jarie Drees, Zac Fredrickson, Michelle Stritzke
  2. Madison: Jeremy Borer, Eric Gall, Carmen Haschke, Amanda Sunderman, Dale White

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot: Matt Cerney, JK Costello, Matt Drake, Travis Penn
  2. Nemaha Valley: Katie Antholz, Terra Bottcher, Ross French, Rick Smith, Luke Warman

Class D

  1. Dorchester: Jamie Church, Ben Holly, Crystal Kahle, Sarah Rezabek, Jason Weber
  2. Lindsay Holy Family: Jesse Luetkenhaus, Ryan Luetkenhaus, Erin McCabe, Mandy Nienaber, Sheila Preister

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; Team members listed for 1st and 2nd place.)

Class A

  1. Lincoln East (88.4): Ryan Haase, Thane Dinsdale, Miling Yan, Graydon Foreman, Brianna Germer
  2. Lincoln Northeast (85.0): Tristan Skrdla-Markwell, Jeff Ifland, Viet Nguyen, Kimberly McArthur, Paul Ahlemeyer
  3. Creighton Prep (83.2)
  4. Lincoln Southeast (79.4)
  5. Omaha North (79.4)

Class B

  1. Aurora (68.5):Brian Kell, Lesley Ediger, Scott Krull, Katherine Glee
  2. Marian (65.0):Kathleen McGill, Sarah McGill, Brigid Dolan, Elizabeth Gorski
  3. Seward (64.75)
  4. G.I. Central Catholic (64.25)
  5. McCook (60.75)

Class C

  1. Brownell-Talbot (83.33): JK Costello, Matt Cerney, Yaeko Okuda
  2. Nemaha Valley (71.67): Rick Smith, Terra Bottcher, Katie Antholz
  3. Humphrey Saint Francis (67.33)
  4. Hebron (63.33)
  5. Mt. Michael (62.0)

Class D

  1. Dorchester (66.0): Jamie Church, Jason Weber, Ross Havlat
  2. Mead (63.67): Regan Else, Paul Thorson, Darsey Moline
  3. Leyton (56.67)
  4. Lindsay Holy Family (56.33)
  5. Pope John XXIII (55.0)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (score out of 100 points, school)

Juliet Kelty (90, Pius X), Miling Yan (88, Lincoln East), Wendy Holley (82, Omaha North)
Benjamin Haskell (100, Omaha North), Tristan Skrdla-Markwell (100, Lincoln Northeast), Ryan Haase (97, Lincoln East), Todd Stohs (97, Lincoln Southeast)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Place Name School
1 Benjamin Haskell Omaha North
2 Andrea Lundell Millard North
3 Bryan Gordon Lincoln High
4 Mark Ely Creighton Prep
4 Rick Smith Nemaha Valley
6 David Rennard Omaha Central
7 Nick Benes Pius X
7 Jesse Deacon Creighton Prep
7 Thane Dinsdale Lincoln East
7 Jeff Ifland Lincoln Northeast