Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 1997 Results

The 8th Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 13, 1997, at the UNL city campus Union. Opening ceremonies began simultaneously at 8:00 a.m. in Kimball Hall and the Schulte Field House with the Welcome Addresses by Associate Vice Chancellor Nancy Stara and Associate Dean Michael Steinman. Math Day 1990 hosted 562 students from 68 Nebraska high schools. This year Math Day hosted 1,167 students from 94 Nebraska schools.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Gallup Organization. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I . The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other. The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume only two years high school algebra and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Lincoln Northeast: Gavin Donaldson, Robert Gallagher, Jeff Ifland, Lucas Sabalka, Tristan Skrdla-Markwell
  2. Lincoln East: Jeff Darling, Cory Doolittle, Brianna Germer, Michael Johnson, Matt Keller

Class B

  1. Pius X: Ken Bayer, Nick Benes, Jason Jambor, Juliet Kelty
  2. Auburn: Dan Chaney, Eric Fulton, Cris Kalkwarf, Nick Shaw, Dustin Volkmer

Class C

  1. Tecumseh: Jon Hoke, Lindy Mahoney, Nick Philippi, Amy Pohlman, Brent Richard
  2. Omaha Central Christian: Kevin Baba, Paul Coker, Matt Gustafson, David Hughes, Adam Patton

Class D

  1. Brownell-Talbot: Matt Cerney, JK Costello, Matt Drake, Andy Josephson
  2. Guide Rock: Natalie Kinnaman, Ryan Konen, Lee Montgomery, Chris Ping, Shannon Sholtz

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; Team members listed for 1st and 2nd place.)

Class A

  1. Creighton Prep (94.6): Jake Wallace, Joel Johns, Chris Goodrich, Andy Davis Ashley Gibb
  2. Lincoln East (93.8): Samuel Achord, Jeff Darling, Ryan Haase, Jill Baker, Brianna Germer
  3. Lincoln Northeast (91.6)
  4. Omaha Central (88.2)
  5. Omaha North (87.4)

Class B

  1. Pius X (88.75): Nick Benes, Ken Bayer, Juliet Kelty, Ellen Veomett
  2. Auburn (81.5): Eric Fulton, Dustin Volkmer, Daniel Chaney, Nick Shaw
  3. G. I. Central Catholic (79.25)
  4. Lexington (78.75)
  5. Elkhorn (78.5)

Class C

  1. Nemaha Valley (93): Jason Damme, Rick Smith, Mark Wellsandt
  2. Mt. Michael (89.67): John Haas, John Eggers, Michael Walsh
  3. Central Christian (84.67)
  4. Neb. Evangelical Lutheran (83.67)Tecumseh (78.67)

Class D

  1. Brownell-Talbot (85.67): JK Costello, Annan Moy, Matt Cerney
  2. College View Academy (80.67): Sarah Baugher, J Krueger, Sheree Schwartz
  3. Friend (77.67)
  4. Dorchester (71.33)
  5. Guide Rock (70.67)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (score out of 100 points, school)

Tracy Cozine (96, Lincoln Southeast), Rebecca Goines (93, Papillion-LaVista), Jill Baker (92, Lincoln East), Brianna Germer (92, Lincoln East), Andrea Lundell (92, Millard North)
Benjamin Haskell (100, Omaha North), Lucas Sabalka (100, Lincoln Northeast), Jake Wallace (100, Creighton Prep)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Place Name School
1 Nick Benes Lincoln Pius X
2 Jeff Darling Lincoln East
3 Benjamin Haskell Omaha North
4 Gregory Payne Kearney High
5 Samuel Achord Lincoln East
6 Marton Berces Lincoln Northeast
7 Samuel Kruger Omaha Central
9 Kevin Baba Omaha Central Christian
9 Lucas Sabalka Lincoln Northeast
10 Benjamin Teply Omaha Central