Skip Navigation

Department of Mathematics

Math Day 1996 Results

The 7th Annual UNL Math Day was held on Thursday, November 14, 1996, at the UNL city campus Union.

The purpose of Math Day is to promote the mathematical sciences and UNL. It consists of two individual and two team mathematics competitions, information about majors and departments, career information and recreational mathematical activities. All students start with a multiple choice, preliminary exam called PROBE I (Problems Requiring Original and Brilliant Effort). The top 50 students move on to take the now famous essay exam called PROBE II. The top 10 on PROBE II are awarded a total of $34,000 in 4-year scholarships to UNL. The scholarships are generously supported by the Gallup Organization. The first team competition is determined by averaging the top scores from each school on PROBE I. The second is a double elimination tournament pitting 3-member teams against each other. The team competitions are divided into smallest, small, medium and large school categories with trophies given to the top two teams in each. All the questions assume only two years high school algebra and one year geometry. However the answers to PROBE II questions require the creativity and originality that we expect from only the very best students.

Math Bowl Tournament

Class A

  1. Omaha North: Madan Ramakrishnan, Josh Pluta, Megan Plendl, Stu Shell, Bo Barlow
  2. Ralston: Jaclyn Kohles, Nicole Kramer, Becky Dolphin, Tim Carlson, Dan Pearson

Class B

  1. Seward: Rob Kruse, Corey Scheele, Justin Tyree, Jon Jennings, Xiaohui Wang
  2. Ashland Greenwood: Jenny Hanson, Damon Howard, Jim White, Jenny Smits, Dawn Christen

Class C

  1. Tecumseh: Brent Richard, Crystal Mahoney, Monica Beethe, Andrew Bossung, Bruce Buethe
  2. Omaha Central Christian: Kevin Baba, Adam Patton, Cheryl Baldwin, Paul Coker, Matt Gustafson

Class D

  1. Nemaha Valley: Chrissy Scheer, Julie Smith, Mark Wellsand
  2. Brownell-Talbot: J K Costello, Melinda Cerney, Matt Cerney, Timmy Kobayashi, Andy Josephson

PROBE I-Team Competition

(Maximum possible team score is 100; Team members listed for 1st and 2nd place.)

Class A

  1. Lincoln East (82.00): Cory Doolittle, Jeff Darling, Samuel Achord, Sarah Barry, Emily Zangari
  2. Omaha Central (77.00): Andrew Ochsner, Dakota Bailey, Samul Kruger, David Rennard, Cori Mallenby
  3. Omaha North (76.80)
  4. Creighton Prep (73.60)
  5. Millard North (71.80)

Class B

  1. Seward (65.75): Justin Tyree, Xiaohui Wang, Corey Sheele, Mathias Harre
  2. Norris (61.50): Lynsi Rahorst, Andrea Traudt, Matt Callicoat, Elliott Kess
  3. McCook (58.50)
  4. Beatrice (57.25)
  5. Syacuse-Dunbar-Avoca (55.00)

Class C

  1. Deshler (67.00): Tyson Stichka, Nicole Meyer, Michael Zucker
  2. Nebraska Evangelical Lutheran (64.00): Lucas Gotta, Heidi Schwerin, Scott Weinrich
  3. Tecumseh (61.70)
  4. Omaha Cetral Christian (61.00)
  5. Hemingford (59.00)

Class D

  1. Nemaha Valley (74.33): Julie Smith, Cohlin Bohling, Jason Damme
  2. Guide Rock (64.00): Lee Montgomery, Dubert Gutierrez, Edwin Wiest
  3. Brownell-Talbot (61.33)
  4. Friend (56.67)
  5. College View Academy (55.00)

PROBE I-Individual Competition

Top 3 (score out of 100 points, school)

Jaclyn Kohles 97 (Ralston); Sarah Barry 80 (Lincoln East); Julie Smith 79 (Nemaha Valley)
Lucas Sabalka 96 (Lincoln Northeast); Andrew Ochsner 89 (Omaha Central); Cory Doolittle 88 (Lincoln East)

PROBE II (Scholarship Competition)

Place Name School
1 Kohles, Jaclyn Omaha Ralston
2 Pluta, Joshua Omaha North
3 Petrick, Josh Millard North
4 Kruger, Samul Omaha Central
5 Sabalka, Lucas Lincoln Northeast
6 Gordon, Bryan Park Jr. High (Lincoln)
7 Holley, Wendy Omaha North
8 Rennard, David Omaha Central
9 Achord, Samue Lincoln East
10 Darling, Jeff Lincoln East